Blue Smoke 

The taste lingers in my mouth and my lips feel dry…

Mucus,gathering in my throat doesn’t feel quite right yet.

But I take another drag on my cigarette, 

Watching insignificant blue smoke curl up,

higher and higher into nothingness. 

Exhale.

White smoke rushes out,

masking my vision. 

But that’s fine, I feel more in control now.

Tapping against the coaster.

Inhale.

Settling more comfortably into my seat,

I see clearly through the screen of my own creation.

What matters truly and what doesn’t, 

What the years will do to you and what moments can unravel. 

I sit here, bathed in white.

And in those moments, 

I am.

Reborn.

(c)Charis

3/05/2017 ​

Image courtesy of Google 

One thought on “Blue Smoke 

Leave a Reply

